Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Last Chance to Vote for your Favourite Shrewsbury Market Hall Trader of the Year

Last Chance to Vote for your Favourite Shrewsbury Market Hall Trader of the Year

Time is running out to cast your vote to find Shrewsbury’s favourite Market Hall Trader of the Year for 2022.

People visiting the indoor market before March 31 can nominate their favourite trader to win a Mayor of Shrewsbury Award.

The trader with the most votes will be presented with a trophy at the annual Mayor’s Awards ceremony at the Walker Theatre on April 28.

Since the inception of the award for Market Trader of the Year in 2014, previous winners have been The Market Buffet in both 2014 and 2017, Amess Brothers fruit & vegetable stall in 2015 and Café Aleoli in 2016 and 2018, The Card Stall in 2019, whilst  Ewe and Ply were worthy winners in 2020.

Nomination forms are available in the market and completed forms should be deposited in the ballot box provided.

Duplicate entries will not be counted.

Mayor of Shrewsbury, Councillor Julian Dean, said: “The Market Hall is a great location providing such a diverse range of businesses and this award is a great way to vote for your favourite Market Trader of the Year. It’s also a great testament to the traders that the Market Hall was voted as runner-up in the national Market Hall of the Year awards earlier this year.

“For anyone who hasn’t already voted, I would urge people to cast their vote for their favourite Market Hall trader and it won’t be an easy decision to make.”

Mike Cox, outdoor and recreation manager for the Town Council, added: “The Market Hall is a popular place to shop in Shrewsbury and everyone has their favourite trader. If you would like to see them in the running for an award, make sure that you vote before the closing date of March 31 – competition is stiff and with our traders coming through the pandemic as they have, this is the public’s chance to make sure that the hard work put in over the last two years is recognised.”


Published: 28 March 2022